RSS Feed

One day to go

Posted on

Delwynne hosted a party for me last night. The invitation read: wear something pink and bring something to make Judy laugh! 30 locals rocked along with food and wine to share- I drank pink champagne, received things like: pink & white striped lollipop, a pen with a flamingo foot as holder and pink feathered top, face fresher, cards, a watercolour with pink ribbon image and words of support: hope, courage, love strength, faith. There was a time in the night when we all shared our favourite jokes – laughed a lot and I even sang the chorus of a blues song familiar to the local Woodgate Singers with a change of lyric: Bye bye boobs, don’t sigh, don’t cry, bye bye boobs! Everyone would have had a great night and I felt the love and energy of yet another groups of friends. I still feel the strength from it today – and bought the pink balloons home and hung them on the front door as a reminder. Spent the morning in the garden. Needs more that I could do in the time I had. I have left it in the garden competition for the council as a sign of support for their project in Bundy in Bloom even though it is not up to scratch and I want them to walk around it anyway and think of me as it is judged tomorrow. I have encouraged 6 others to join the competition so it will be worth the judge’s drive down here to see so many. Got a $50 voucher donated by the local hardware as a prize for the best local entry – so managed to do that despite throwing my life upside down in the last fortnight. Feel as ready as I can be in the house and in my heart. I have created a text for entering the operating theatre: calling my guides and all those friends in and opening to the love and thoughtfulness- will make the instruments rattle on the table and the curtains rustle at least! Maybe that big overhead light will flicker! Mum wrote a card with a gift of cash to support the costs – the card was an old religious one- ‘This is the day the Lord has made let us be glad and rejoice in it’. Not sure if she noticed- but I have treated it as a gift and that is the spirit in which I will enter the day (4.00am rise, disinfecting shower, nexium tablet to avoid reflux, depart 5ish for admission 6.30am for surgery 8.30am). I will be especially nice to the anaesthetist. I had a call 2 days ago and a voice that sounded like it was coming from a call centre in Mumbai said: ‘I wish to speak to Mrs Pi-pen’ . Having been plagued with computer scams recently and suspecting any voice that mispronounced my name I said in my best school marm voice: “Is this a sales call?’ ‘No’ came the reply, ‘this is your anaesthetist!’ How fast can you do a verbal backpedal on the phone? I did try. I hope I left him smiling. John Harris, my son, arrives around 3.00pm this afternoon. That is another thing to look forward to. I am so glad he decided to be here for the worst of it. At first I thought that I didn’t want him to see me dribbling into the pillow- perhaps he should come when I was compus, surrounded by flowers! But I could hear in his voice that he wanted to be there with me and by now I know that I want him there very much. We are planning a roast lamb dinner which is his favourite and Mike will do a smashing job of preparing it- he has already marinated the lamb. They will have to drink my share of the red wine! Bring it on. I am ready. As Andrew said last night: ‘Go you good thing’.

About pipsky

A creative, generous 64 year old with a PhD in Performance Studies trying to grow old disgracefully while working like mad in regional Queensland, squeezing the juice out of every day & still trying to find the balance that will maintain the quiet mind that makes her useful to others and nice to live with.

Leave a Reply

