RSS Feed

the itch

Posted on

I am being plagued with an itch across the mid riff- supposedly an alergy from the plasters used at various stages. I have been taking an antihistamine but it is not working at the moment – it was 2.00am before I could settle last night after I had hit it with everything I had that was legal. Things always feel grimmer in the early hours don’t they? My system is fairly sensitive generally so I am not looking forward to the chemotherapy trail. I have avoided researching it until I could see that it was on the horizon and a book just arrived on ‘Taking Control’ of breast cancer, which has been the most useful resource to date. Reading about the side affects I dip my lid to the thousands of women before me who have weathered it – especially those that were managing young children or households at the time. I have to admit that I am not looking forward to it at all. Janice Quadrio gave me a magic insight when she said that she was equally miserable lying or walking – so it will be walking for me as long as I can stand up I have decided- may be an added advantage of weight loss! Chemo-brained, bald zombie woman lurches along the foreshore muttering affirmations to Aphrodite to make all things lovable again!

About pipsky

A creative, generous 64 year old with a PhD in Performance Studies trying to grow old disgracefully while working like mad in regional Queensland, squeezing the juice out of every day & still trying to find the balance that will maintain the quiet mind that makes her useful to others and nice to live with.

2 responses »

  1. Dear Judy
    So good to be in touch after our travel and to read these entries. We’ll follow it all with you. It is such a personal way to share the journey.
    Love to you and Mike.from us both
    Margaret

    Reply

Leave a Reply

