RSS Feed

Time between

Posted on

Early October and I am in a time between surgery and chemotherapy. I am feeling fairly well and strong and doing more and more about the place. Spent hours in the garden with a friend planting the 22 plants I bought with the $200 voucher for winning the garden competition! Spent 150% 0f the energy I had of course, what’s new. But so satisfying- dull day for planting and rain storm the following day. Great start for the natives! Friends are calling now knowing that I will be more ready for visits. They bring cakes- and I am trying to lose weight still – but I love their care and concern. Went to Anglican service on Sunday because the minister Rev Bruce Boas had been so kind to me and it was harvest festival and parish feast day honouring St Francis. My local community members were so welcoming. We shared a meal afterwards and I took my trademark impossible quiche which was appreciated. I was comforted by their prayers (getting a special mention) and the rhythms of the ritual so familiar from 8 years as a Sister of Mercy – (you do wonder what the theologians get their knickers in a knot over- it is all about community for me now, never mind the finer points of doctrine). I actually knew all the hymns (who could not know ‘Just a closer walk with thee’ , ‘This is the Day the Lord has made’ and ‘All creatures of our God and king’).

About pipsky

A creative, generous 64 year old with a PhD in Performance Studies trying to grow old disgracefully while working like mad in regional Queensland, squeezing the juice out of every day & still trying to find the balance that will maintain the quiet mind that makes her useful to others and nice to live with.

Leave a Reply

