RSS Feed

Movement

Posted on

Health practitioners are surprised at my degree of movement this soon after surgery. I am reminded that movement has largely been my lifework – years in theatre training and teaching movement for different performance genres, Feldenkrais training and practice over 15 years. Despite the last 15 as a bureaucrat and artsworker I have not lost my connection with awareness through movement. I take it for granted but I can’t help experimenting – I stetch that little bit further, explore a range of movement clockwise or according to the points of the compass, sneak up on a sticky spot and trick the brain into releasing it. Doesn’t everybody do that? I am trying to do everything more slowly which is a great challenge to me but a boon for awareness. The area around the surgery is still rubbery and numb. Monday I do a physiotherapy assessment with a nurse at the medical practice I attend to plan some rehabilitation. Will be interesting to see how that goes – won’t say no to anything that looks like learning. I am starting to create a vision for my new body image – if I can just get the exercise and diet right I might make a move from pear shape to skateboard!

About pipsky

A creative, generous 64 year old with a PhD in Performance Studies trying to grow old disgracefully while working like mad in regional Queensland, squeezing the juice out of every day & still trying to find the balance that will maintain the quiet mind that makes her useful to others and nice to live with.

One response »

  1. Dear Judy,
    Have just read all your blog, loved your description of your walk in the company of Mike’s stick! Very good news about the bone scan.
    I will be reading your blog and thinking of you,
    Love,
    Karen (Tunny)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

