RSS Feed

My heart

Posted on

My heart! My heart! Yesterday I had a scan of the heart to check its capacity to cope with the chemotherapy regime. I had never seen my heart working in real time. On the ultra sound screen I could watch it pumping away. The medical technician slid the scope over the viscous solution on my chest wall and probed each chamber. Red and blue flashes marked the flow of blood in and out; the tiny valves flipped open and closed. I was in awe, humbled, grateful. I was in love with my heart! You brave pulsating thing; all day every day you work so hard for me and I just take you for granted. I made a resolution to take more care of body-mine, heart-mine and be more aware of what I was asking of myself.

About pipsky

A creative, generous 64 year old with a PhD in Performance Studies trying to grow old disgracefully while working like mad in regional Queensland, squeezing the juice out of every day & still trying to find the balance that will maintain the quiet mind that makes her useful to others and nice to live with.

One response »

  1. Judy, it’s breakfast time, I sit munching cereal and reading your blog. Soon to throw myself in the shower and take Tamara (who lives in a castle! well the front of the old Qldr is concrete stucco castle) down to Ikea to change her light shades and globes. And stopping for this moment – I am in love with your heart too! And your writing! Have a lovely day, Karen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

