RSS Feed

Family

Posted on

Have just returned from the most remarkable weekend on the Sunshine Coast with family. Imagine a scene where I lie on the bed with my youngest sister beside me and my middle sister doing the most elegant reiki healing. There are tears of release and a powerful sense of being supported by powers within and without. I hold their hands in the aftermath of the healing. Maureen says that there is no fear or anger in my body only anxiety. She sees strong guides around me and the stone placed at my neck still shines with blue lights even after her touch is over. Imagine an 87 year old mother with arms outstretched wanting to hug me to my core. We have had our rows over the years – but the love is always stronger than the rage and we come close again. Imagine the Saturday night dinner where nephew and niece-in-law join the gathering and we belly laugh our way through in traditional family humour style. Mum is to return to the retirement village by taxi but my nephew decides to drive her home – he speaks with a Pakistani accent so she can still have the true taxi experience! Home again I will carry the warmth of memories into chemotherapy this week.

About pipsky

A creative, generous 64 year old with a PhD in Performance Studies trying to grow old disgracefully while working like mad in regional Queensland, squeezing the juice out of every day & still trying to find the balance that will maintain the quiet mind that makes her useful to others and nice to live with.

2 responses »

  1. Ludmila Doneman

    “Imagine an 87 year old mother with arms outstretched wanting to hug me to my core.”
    I feel like I was there…Do you remember the day we went to the St Stephen’s chapel and you saw the statue of Mary McK for the first time? Such delicate hands of wood and metal…Much love to you and women in your family. Ludmila

    Reply
    • you know that image of Mary McK stays with me- what a haunting sculpture – was never sure whether the hands and shining face were brilliant art or apparition Jx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

