RSS Feed

new body

Posted on

Today I go to the surgeon to have stitches removed from the tidy up surgical  jobs removing the fleshy tags left at the back of the mastectomy scars and the port-a-cath that was secured in my chest for delivery of the chemotherapy. These will be the final challenges to my old body and herald the start of my ‘new’ body- the one I take into the future. In the same week I have had major dental work done reviewing the teeth post chemotherapy and have a new triple crown covering an old toothy gap as well! In a week or so my hair will have grown back enough to display the little flourish of chemo curls that are making me smile and I will take a celebratory photo to share. Some feeling is coming back into my feet now and I even risked cutting my own toenails this morning (not so safe when you cant feel a thing down there!) Had an email from Breast Cancer Network Australia yesterday. They posted the video that Brad Marcellos made for ABC Open with my revealing scar photo and it had more hits that anything they have ever put up. So they have asked me would I be available for other media interviews as they are often asked for referrals to cancer survivors. I agreed as long as it is clear that I am not identified with this role- I am an artsworker who happens to be a cancer survivor. I have been invited to speak to a high school community in Bundaberg who are doing a cancer fund raiser in November. I have entitled the talk ‘Down the Snakes and Up the Ladders’ and will endeavor to bring my clown out to consider the journey thus far!

About pipsky

A creative, generous 64 year old with a PhD in Performance Studies trying to grow old disgracefully while working like mad in regional Queensland, squeezing the juice out of every day & still trying to find the balance that will maintain the quiet mind that makes her useful to others and nice to live with.

2 responses »

  1. Love that clown of yours Jude xxx

    Reply
  2. Hey Jude …. where can we see that ABC Open video?
    Lotsa love

    Reply

Leave a Reply

