RSS Feed

Playing up

Posted on

I am reminded after the third performance of the Olde Tyme Music Hall (in which I sing two dozen songs with the chorus of 40, dance the old soft shoe, do a comic routine with Mike who plays a card sharp, while I am his dumb audience volunteer, narrate the melodrama and appear in sundry crowd scenes!) that I love to be on the stage Mrs Worthington. We performed yesterday at a farm outside Childers – having to set up a stage, tent dressing rooms and fiddled entries and arrangements to accommodate the small space. Everyone took it in their stride and an audience of ninety four had a ball with us. I am exhausted today but smiling on the inside. Doing this gig meant not taking myself so seriously (me who was more used to the high art of Brecht & Shakespeare). I had to overcome my prejudice against bad jokes and ham acting and learn to go with the flow and enjoy those things over which I had no control, while at the same time relishing the work with the community and the chance to sing. I seem to have managed to get myself insanely busy at this point. Funding I worked for from the Flexible Touring Fund with Arts Queensland has meant full time labor to make it happen – to bring gin buses from 4 destinations to matinees and to tour the show to two other places. It has meant developing a Wide Bay network for Pilotlight Productions that would have taken 3 years of normal development. I actually look forward to writing the acquittal! Then I will rest- traveling to Sydney and Melbourne in November to family and friends. I have done all this while wrestling with drug therapy- have gone cold turkey on hormones and any other strong medication in an effort to get my body back and find myself again. It has been through a lot the old corpus – but I feel like I am coming back and with what I have managed to sustain alongside people thirty years my junior in the past few weeks I think I must be ticking along okay!

About pipsky

A creative, generous 64 year old with a PhD in Performance Studies trying to grow old disgracefully while working like mad in regional Queensland, squeezing the juice out of every day & still trying to find the balance that will maintain the quiet mind that makes her useful to others and nice to live with.

2 responses »

  1. Way to go, Judy! That sounds like a lot of fun. You have the most amazing energy. It sounds like you are getting your groove back big time.

    Reply
  2. Jude this sounds delicious!!! Wonderful read!!! Love Margi (in Perth performing Eve. Love Margi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

