RSS Feed

Scar tattoo

Posted on

One New Year event for me will be getting ‘the tattoo’ over the mastectomy scars. I thought this was an original idea until I saw the website with images of hundreds of women who got there before me. Deciding what permanent marks to make on my body however is not so easy for me.  Angel wings, birds, butterflies, Chinese dragons, a phoenix,  guns and roses? If I were Maori I would know exactly what was appropriate to identify my lineage and occupation (I asked Manus, a visiting Maori master potter what the tattoo on his arm meant -“It says that I am a potter”). Fair enough, that makes sense. What authentic roots do I have that might help me create a meaningful image that would reclaim my chest area and that I could live with? I am going to do some research into Celtic design for example (Mike has already checked out the Pippen Kings and it is all about terrifying religious iconography- that has already been seared onto my soul thanks, no need to print it on the surface as well!)  If any of you have a suggestion I would be grateful for guidance!

About pipsky

A creative, generous 64 year old with a PhD in Performance Studies trying to grow old disgracefully while working like mad in regional Queensland, squeezing the juice out of every day & still trying to find the balance that will maintain the quiet mind that makes her useful to others and nice to live with.

2 responses »

  1. Paula Deverell

    A Phoenix?

    Reply
  2. Hey jude, You said you were collecting images of new life when you were here in Melb… what about one of those images…. love you,
    Laura & laurie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

