RSS Feed

Back to work?

Posted on

The absence of posts is a sign of lack of time to reflect on my existence because I am working my butt off as a community volunteer- oh and on one paid project even! I did have good news that I wanted to share though- the first ultrasound since the surgery was a week or so ago an the surgeon called with the results and there is no sign of the cancer in the rib cage, chest wall or lymph nodes. That is very good news because the rumor is that the first year is the riskiest time for recurrence. I did give myself a hard time leading up to the tests mainly with nightmares about going through chemo again! I went to the Cancer Group in Childers and the women there were marvelous and gave me heart- they all feel a bit crazy around test times! I have also been getting a bit more function back in my feet and legs thanks to some hot physio and going back to exercise classes- light aerobics and aqua aerobics.  I seem to fill every hour of every day at a pace that would exhaust fitter people I am sure! Have managed the sponsorship program for my local Woodgate Community Events, scored three lots of funding for the community theatre group I am with Pilotlight productions (‘like’ us on facebook!), the last one from the Industry Development Fund with Arts Queensland has me organizing 4 flood relief benefits across the Wide Bay Burnett! The good news is I get to sing in them with the mob! Have a contact with Creative Regions to produce three short films with local farmers to go on a new portal celebrating the food/culture and commerce of the region. Loving the creative work on that. Have managed flood well in Woodgate. We put the house on the market this week to attract the Easter crowd for a peek- probably take 5 years to sell n the present market here. Hope you are all well and happy

About pipsky

A creative, generous 64 year old with a PhD in Performance Studies trying to grow old disgracefully while working like mad in regional Queensland, squeezing the juice out of every day & still trying to find the balance that will maintain the quiet mind that makes her useful to others and nice to live with.

Leave a Reply

